Karen Jordan

Writing the Cards and Letters That Matter Most

What cards and letters have you held on to over the years? As I looked through my memory box of correspondence, I discovered several categories.

  • Old Christmas cards
  • Valentine cards from my husband and children
  • Letters to my mother, when I first moved away from my hometown
  • Birthday cards from my husband and children
  • Thank-you notes
  • Letters from my husband, when we were apart
  • “Thinking of you” cards from friends after I moved away
  • Mother’s Day cards from my kids and grandkids

Even though I send few cards and letters now, I still enjoy receiving them. But I’m reconsidering this lost art of letter writing. I know others appreciate receiving them as much as I do. And a few friends and relatives don’t communicate online.

I think the following messages would warrant an old-fashioned card or letter.

  • Thank-you note. I’ve fallen short with “thank-you” etiquette, but I know most people appreciate a written note of thanks, and many expect it.
  • Thinking-of-you note. Often it’s hard for me to tell people how I feel face-to-face; so, I seem to express myself better by writing them.
  • Congratulations. I’m always thrilled when I receive blessings from old friends and family.
  • Love letters. These private notes can become treasured keepsakes for loved ones or even part of our recorded legacy.
  • Tribute. Words of praise might be difficult to write. But if you sense a expression of gratitude or praise is appropriate, you can be sure that you will find the words you need to express your thoughts.
  • Reconciliation. Have you written that letter to end a conflict, resolve some differences, or restore a friendship?
Decide to do it right now, saying, “Yes, Lord, I will write that letter,” or, “I will be reconciled to that person now.” (Oswald Chambers)
What card or letter will you write today? 
2 thoughts on “Writing the Cards and Letters That Matter Most”

  1. I’ll send a thinking-of-you note to a friend who’s having a difficult time meeting a writing project deadline. I was going to send a email, but your post changed my mind. Someone gave me a box of beautiful note cards for Christmas that I can put to use. Thanks for the prompt!

    Like

Add new comment

