Kathyrn Graves

Fresh Breezes

We sat at opposite ends of the sofa. Her shoulders scrunched up to her ears as she spoke.

“I don’t feel the Holy Spirit, so I’m not sure He’s there.”

I tucked my knees under my chin and circled them with my arms, settling in for a long conversation with my friend.

“It’s not about how you feel,” I began.

The two of us sat talking, sipping on our iced tea, and after a while, her eyes lit with understanding.

“So it’s like air,” she said. “I don’t understand it, and I don’t always feel it, but that doesn’t mean it’s not there. I can still breathe.”

I smiled. “Exactly.”

Our conversation rolled around in my mind for several days afterward, and I realized how active the Holy Spirit is in my life. Only most of the time, I tend to be oblivious. I wrote recently about how God forms what we writers write most often while we’re asleep. (You can find that article, “Dreaming and the Creative Writing Process,” on www.WordServeWaterCooler.com.) I think He probably works this way because that’s when He can by-pass all the noise in our brains.

I get so busy thinking about all the pressing items of my day that I miss the whispering breeze of the Holy Spirit’s voice. Yet it is His voice I need to follow when I write. How can we facilitate hearing and following God’s voice?

  • Begin the day with Bible reading and prayer. If we’re in tune in the morning, it sets the tone for the rest of the day.
  • Choose a verse to meditate on throughout the day. If there is a verse in the background of our minds, it works like elevator music. While not always aware of it, at the oddest times, the words will pop into our conscious thoughts.
  • Listen to music.
  • Set aside a time and place to write where you can be alone, without distractions. Begin your writing with a prayer. Recall your verse.
  • Write from the overflow. When God is working in your heart, when you are in the habit of daily Bible study and prayer, there are constant new discoveries. And things we’ve known for a long time take on fresh meaning. These are ideas we can share with our readers.

When we wait on the Lord, listening for His voice, we will hear it. We’ll feel the breeze and waft it on. Maybe we’ll even be able to see the effects of it on other people’s lives.

woman-713481_640

Photo: Pixabay

KathrynGraves.Wordpress.com

1 thought on “Fresh Breezes”

Add new comment

