Guest Posts, Nancy Kay Grace

Pressing On in God’s Grace

Today, Nancy Kay Graceauthor and speaker, shares about her new devotional/Bible study book, The Grace Impactin the StoryWriting Studio. Nancy’s biblical teachings revolve around seeing God’s grace in everyday life.

BookCover/GraceImpactMy writing journey began in 2007, when my stories were published in a couple of devotionals and Chicken Soul for the Soul books. This encouraged me to forge ahead in the unfamiliar territory of writing.

GraceNotes. Wanting to share my publishing news with friends, I wrote a short devotional in an email, adding my good news at the end. This was the first issue of GraceNotes, my email devotional, which became the seed for a book. GraceNotes has been sent each month since then, even through some very difficult seasons of life. My collection of devotions increased, and I learned more about grace. Eventually, I hoped to have enough devotionals to compile them into a book.

The Grace Impact. In 2012, I started on a different book project, but it abruptly ended. I was depressed and discouraged with writing. Needing to hear from the Lord about my next step, I attended a Christian writer’s conference. I hadn’t planned on talking with any agents, but God had a different plan.

A small Christian publisher had an open appointment; I timidly showed up. I pitched the idea for this book to CrossRiver Media for a compilation of my devotions called GraceNotes: Thirty Days of Grace. The publisher was interested and asked for a proposal.

I left the conference with a new assignment from the Lord. Writing the proposal forced me to think through my project. The Lord brought to mind a theme scripture as the foundation of the book, helped me choose which devotions to include, and motivated me to complete it by the deadline six weeks later. The proposal and the manuscript were later accepted.

At the beginning the editing process, the publisher suggested I consider retitling my project, as several other books had similarities. I prayed and researched; The Grace Impact was chosen.

The book went from being a devotional about God’s grace to becoming a book teaching about God’s grace that happens to be a devotional. This change challenged me to do deeper in writing, researching, and showing God’s grace. The Grace Impact released in April 2015.

Any writing journey detours from what we as authors expect, as the Lord reveals His plan for each of us through the process. Wherever you are at in your writing journey, here are some things to keep in mind:

  1. Be faithful to your call to share God’s word of hope.
  2. When you get discouraged on the journey, pray. God is with you.
  3. Release any fears to the Lord before they grow larger,
  4. When delays occur, learn to trust the Lord in a deeper way. God’s timing is best.
  5. Take the next step. Persevere.

Remember the promise of Philippians 1:6: “ … being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

We are challenged to go forward on our writing journeys instead of becoming discouraged or yielding to fears. Press on in God’s grace.

Photo/NancyKayGraceNancy Kay Grace is speaker and author who is captivated by God’s grace and loves to share about embracing it in everyday life. She has contributed stories to several anthologies and published magazine articles. Nancy is married to her best friend, Rick, who is a senior pastor in northwest Arkansas. They have served the Lord for more that forty years, seeing His grace at work in many countries. Now they enjoy the stage of life with two married children and an increasing number of grandchildren. To learn more about her ministry, please visit www.nancykaygrace.com

Nancy’s devotional/ Bible study study book, The Grace Impact, is published through CrossRiver Media released April 17, 2015

In a few months, Nancy will be hosting an online Bible study using The Grace Impact. If you are interested in more information about this opportunity, please sign up for her GraceNotes newsletter at www.nancykaygrace.com.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/nancykaygrace
Twitter: @nancykaygrace
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/nancykaygrace

1 thought on “Pressing On in God’s Grace”

Add new comment

