Re-blog

12 Reasons for Writers to Love Facebook

I wanted to re-blog this WordServe Water Cooler post by Becky Johnson to our Storywriting Studio readers because I think it will help you understand why a lot of writers like Facebook. I know it can become an addiction and keep us from writing, but so can reading novels and blogs. Yet social networks & reading are a vital part of the writing life. Thanks, Becky for a great post. See you on Facebook!

WordServe Water Cooler

facebook

True Confession: For me, Facebook was love at first post.

Apparently I am not alone. Facebook reigns as Social Media King, with 750 million active users. Here are a dozen reasons why Facebook is this writer’s Social Networking BFF.

1.Cure for Isolation: I am a relational gal and it is no secret that writing can be an isolating business. Facebook is a 24 Hour Kitchen Table “Come and Go” Conversation that never ends. I can connect to other writers who are also trapped at home on a deadline. In fact, Facebook is a virtual water cooler for thousands who work at home in their PJs but enjoy a little human connection with their coffee break.

2. Primes My Writing Pump: I read Facebook the way some read the morning paper (before newspapers all but disappeared). I like to peruse my friends’ thoughts while I sip my coffee. Writing a…

View original post 702 more words

Add new comment

