Karen Jordan

Reflections from Sunrise

Photo/KarenJordan
Sunrise over Lake Cortez

 Fear exhausted me, as I expanded my “to do” list.

How can I work on my book project with so many distractions?

When I asked this question in prayer, a familiar scripture came to mind, “Seek first the kingdom of God …” (Matt. 6:33 NKJV).

But how can I focus on God, when I have all this work to do?

REAL LIFE. I can’t concentrate on my writing projects at times with dishes in the sink or dirty laundry. And when the phone rings, I lose my ability to focus completely. Then, when I expand my worrying about all the details of my life, writer’s block paralyzes me.

A twinge of doubt hovered, as I wrestled with the impossibility of getting caught up with all of my daily tasks.

In my search for answers, I looked up Matthew 6:33 in several Bible translations. What does it really mean to “seek first the kingdom of God”?

I discovered a helpful translation of that promise in The Message: “Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions … You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met” (Mt. 6:33).

Does God’s Word really promise to give me the power I need to overcome my worries as I focus on Him—His presence, His purpose, and His provision? 

Still, I questioned my own ability to accomplish all that I needed to do. 

Lord, can I focus on You and still get all of these tasks completed?

RUNNING. I continued to think and pray about seeking God first about my worries. But I also decided to go for a walk down to the lake before I faced the rest of my projects. So, I tossed my cares aside, slipped into my walking shoes, and locked the door behind me. 

Before I even turned the corner toward, the sunrise took my breath away. I took a quick photo of my  view from the street, hoping to capture the moment. Then, I just stood there, in the middle of the road, mesmerized at the magnificent view in front of me. 

As the sun climbed higher in the sky, I felt energized and inspired. So, I decided to head for the walking trail before I headed back home.

When I put on my earphones to listen to some music, I couldn’t believe the timing of the the first song I heard. “Light Up the Sky” by The Afters lifted my spirits, especially after seeing such a inspiring sunrise, touching my heart and my mind with its truth.

REFLECTION. Later, I reflected on my earlier question, How can I focus on God, when I have all this work to do? And I realized that God had provided an answer to all of my questions even before I had asked.

He drew my attention to the majesty of His creation, as I observed the heavenly canopy of the sunrise reflected in the Lake Cortez, glowing through the trees near my home.

Did God light up the sky to show me that He was with me?

Yes, I could not deny that He was right there with me. He opened my eyes, and I could see evidence of His Presence all around me.

YouTube/theaftersvideos (“Light Up the Sky” by The Afters)

How has God revealed Himself to you lately?

Add new comment

