Anita Agers Brooks

Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over’s Surprise Release

 

First Hired Last Fired
First Hired Released Earlier Than Expected

It happened to me again — this makes twice in a row. My book baby came early, while I was out of town. Photos of smiling people happily holding my new release came via text, Facebook, and Twitter, while I ground my teeth in anticipation. Desperately wishing I could see its newborn features with my own eyes. I wanted to feel its smooth cover. Smell the scent of fresh print ink. Take in the various hues of blue on the artwork. But alas…I was hundreds of miles and two states away.

I would have to wait. Again.

As a newbie author, it caught me by surprise when First Hired, Last Fired: How to Become Irreplaceable in Any Job Market released a couple of days prior to its scheduled date. Suddenly friends and influencers were sending me congratulations and pics. I was out of state, speaking to the New Mexico Medical Association. Cool gig — not so cool timing.

With this book, however, I thought I had it figured out. To make sure I knew the exact date Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over was released, I pre-ordered a copy from Amazon. I thought it might hit the market two-three days in advance, like my first book. But I was wrong. This time, my baby came into the world exactly two weeks ahead of its scheduled due date. Instead of being out of town for a speaking event, I was taking a working vacation to catch up on writing before the big launch, and to spend a little down time with family beforehand.

Bulk Orders of Getting Through What You Can't Get Over
A Box of Hope Arrived While I Was Gone

I never guessed it would happen… but on Tuesday of our vacation, I got the message. Your pre-ordered copy of Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over shipped, and will arrive on Thursday.

Again, I wouldn’t see my new arrival until after my influencers, and many others who pre-ordered, laid their eyes on it first. Argh!

I’m not typically one of those people who has to be in the know and insists on telling as many as they can before someone else gets the chance, but I must admit, in the case of my own book, I’d enjoy that privilege. I also wanted to start the 30 Day Giveaway launch on my Facebook Author/Speaker page, something I carefully and joyfully created, prior to my book’s release, However, things weren’t meant to happen that way.

To my surprise, what did happen is this:

Karen Barnes Jordan Getting Through
Getting Through in Arkansas
Photo Credit: Karen Barnes Jordan

Within three hours, Amazon sold out of the initial inventory of copies they had in stock. For the first day or two, Getting Through consistently ranked in Amazon’s Top 100,000 books, which is fantastic considering I’m not a widely known author, and there was little marketing, build-up, or hype prior to this unexpected release. In the several days since, it continues to rank well, especially considering no one can currently buy until Amazon receives more books.

To me, this proves hope is not a thing of the past. There are still hurting people who need encouragement, practical ideas, emotional healing, compassion, inspiration, and spiritual comfort to get through things they’ll never get over. I wrote this book for people like them, people much like I used to be.

This title isn’t about me, it isn’t about making money or a name for myself, it’s about helping others. It’s about the greater good. When I get excited about the sales numbers, it’s because they represent wounded souls who I hope find something of value in my book to help carry them through their darkest days. It’s about showing others the possibility of making a fresh start with fresh faith. This is why I write. This is why I speak. This is why I breathe. To pass on the hope that was given to me.

Anita Fresh Faith

Psalm 147:11 (NIV)

The Lord delights in those who fear him, who put their hope in his unfailing love.

Author Anita Brooks of Getting Through What You Can't Get Over
Anita Finally Holding Her Book Baby

Anita Brooks motivates others to dynamic breakthroughs. Blending mind, heart, and spirit, as an Inspirational Business/Life Coach, International Speaker, Trauma Expert, and award-winning Author. Her latest book, released through Barbour Publishing, is Getting Through What You Can’t Get Over.

Anita is also author of First Hired, Last Fired — How to Become Irreplaceable in Any Job Market, released by Leafwood Publishing, Death Defied-Life Defined: A Miracle Man’s Memoir, and contributor to The Change Book Series. Her titles are available at all major bookstores, Amazon, plus other online retailers.

She is also host of the Fresh Faith Inspirations podcast. In all she does, Anita fulfills her mission to help 21st century women and men make fresh starts with fresh faith by sharing what she’s learned through experience, interviews, and research.

She’s energized by overcoming adversity, work with integrity, healthy relationships, identity issues, and abundant living. Anita inspires audiences all over the world to believe as she does — in business, as in life and love, it’s never too late!

Anita’s favorite pastime is watching sunsets with her husband of 30 years, while they laugh and dip their toes in the water. Her favorite passion is inspiring others to take life’s battles, and transform them into victories.

You can connect with Anita on Facebook, YouTube, Pinterest, LinkedIn, or Twitter. Keep up with Anita’s latest happenings at anitabrooks.com. Email anita@anitabrooks.com to request information on having Anita inspirationally speak or train at your next event.

Add new comment

