Facing Our Fears and Weaknesses in Our Writing Life

Photo/TaraRoss

 

“We’re going to have to let truth scream louder to our souls than the lies that have infected us” (Beth Moore).

I’m forced to face my fears and weaknesses in many other areas of my life, especially my writing life.

I love this quote from a recent post, “Secret Fears Writers Face,” by Anita Brooks: “One thing we all have in common, there are secret fears writers share. The ones who succeed, put words on the page in spite of what they feel.”

Anita Brooks Getting Through What You Can't Get Over

Releases April 1, 2015

Speaking of writing about facing our fears, I can’t wait for you to read this new book  by Anita BrooksGetting Through What You Can’t Get Over (releases April 1, Barbour Books). In her new book, Anita “offers emotional, practical, and spiritual insights from experts and people who have survived intense trauma—and have made it through seemingly impossible situations.”

Resistance. What fears do you face as a writer? I have a BIG list of my own!

Writing for publication demands strength and stamina! So, we can expect to face resistance, right? With each new project, goal, or idea, we’re reminded of some past failure, rejection, intimidation, or distraction.

Intimidation? Afraid to let anyone see your first (second or third) drafts? Even the best authors write (shoddy) first drafts. Anne Lamott offers an entire chapter on this topic in her excellent instructional book on writing and life, Bird by Bird.

That’s why we RE-write, right? And that’s why I recommend finding a critique groups or someone who can (and will) edit your work. I’m grateful for my writing friends who will be honest enough to wield their red pens and hack on my stuff. My husband Dan serves as my Editor-in-chief, although a lot of writers do not advise asking a spouse to edit. [But I’ll save that controversial topic for another blog post. But you’re welcome to voice your opinion on that subject below.]

Rejection? Wow! This can be a HUGE hurdle for writers! I know it has been for me.If you’re a Christian writers, here’s some encouraging words from Beth Moore, “The next time you feel rejection’s sting, remember God’s words to Samuel: “It is not you they have rejected, but they have rejected me” (1 Sam. 8:7).

Many famous authors were also rejected before making it big, like C.S. Lewis and F. Scott Fitzgerald. That’s encouraging, right? 

Distractions? Do you struggle with distractions? I’ve written quite a few blog posts on that topic! But we all have our own little foxes that nip at our heels, right? Some of my little foxes happen to live in my neighborhood, and they’re always trying to distract me from my work.

Survival Tips. How do you endure setbacks in your writing life? I’ve learned a few survival tips on the walking trail and on my writing journey. But as I face my fears and take one step at a time by faith, I’m able to go the distance.

And now, … one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise. Keep putting into practice all you learned and received … Then the God of peace will be with you. (Phil. 4:8-9 NLT)

What fears have you overcome as a writer? Be sure to tell us your story in the comments below!

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Add new comment

