Thank You! Offering a Prayer of Thanksgiving

“What can I give back to God for the blessings he’s poured out on me? … I’m ready to offer the thanksgiving sacrifice and pray in the name of God” (Ps. 116: 12, 17).

Thanksgiving. Today, I’m making my lists and checking it twice, as I plan our traditional Thanksgiving meal—turkey, dressing, giblet gravy, cranberry sauce, all the sides, appetizers, and (of course) desserts.

Blessings. As I consider how I can express my thanksgiving to God for all His blessings, my family and friends come to mind. And I asked myself this question, What can I give back to God for the blessings He’s poured out on me?

Prayer. The psalmist expressed his gratitude by offering thanksgiving and prayers (Psalm 116:12). I agree–what a wonderful idea! So, in gratitude for God’s blessings in my life, I offer my thanksgiving and prayers for you—my family and friends.

I have not stopped giving thanks for you, remembering you in my prayers. I (ask) that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better. I pray that the eyes of your heart may be enlightened in order that you may know the hope to which he has called you, the riches of his glorious inheritance in his people, and his incomparably great power for us who believe … (Eph. 1:16-19).

Happy Thanksgiving!

How can I pray for you this Thanksgiving? 

Photo/KarenJordan
YouTube/KarenJordan

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Thank You! Offering a Prayer of Thanksgiving

  1. Grace Grits and Gardening November 27, 2014 at 9:04 am Reply

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. […] Thank You! Offering a Prayer of Thanksgiving […]

    Like

Add new comment

