Karen Jordan

Doubly Blessed by Veterans Day Stories

I hope you had the opportunity to celebrate Veterans’ Day this year. I did, and I experienced a double blessing.photo

Grandkids. I’m always blessed to be able attend special school programs with my grandkids. I’m especially grateful for the teachers and students that work hard to plan this kind of event.

As I listened to the kindergarteners sing some favorite patriotic songs, I felt proud to be an American. What a blessing to observe schools informing and encouraging our children to celebrate our country and honor our veterans.

Veterans. After my granddaughter’s patriotic program, I visited my grandson’s classroom. The teachers and students had invited a dozen or more veterans to serve on a panel where they were asked to address the students’ questions.

One by one, veterans shared their military experiences. I wish I could capture the blessings of that moment.

What an honor to be surrounded by so many veterans who had served our country over the years. As I listened to the veterans respond to the student, I was touched by their stories. Many told of their captures and rescues, their lifelong friendships and brotherhood, and their commitment to and love for our country.

Do you realize just how many men and women have given up their lives fighting for America? I’m grateful for this needed reminder of the price of America’s freedom. And I’m thankful for all of the men and women who have served our country over the years. Thank you for telling us your stories. You inspire and encourage us.

As I offer my heartfelt gratitude to all American veterans, I also want to ask for their forgiveness. Please forgive our ignorance and lack of gratitude at times for the sacrifices you and your loved ones have made and continue to make for the sake of our freedom.

God bless you, and God bless America!

How did you celebrate Veterans Day?

Add new comment

