Karen Jordan

Why Consider a Guest Post?

How important is a guest post? From time to time, I’ve been blessed with the opportunity to contribute a guest post to someone else’s blog. I’ve also featured guest posts on my personal blog and on the StoryWriting Studio. Why do I think that’s important?

Photo/DenaDyer Make connections. This week, I’m honored to be featured on Dena Dyer’s blog.

met Dena Dyer a few years ago on my way to the CLASS Christian Writers’ ConferenceI’m not sure Dena remembers that moment, but I sure do. My daughter Tara and I sat across the aisle from her on the plane on our flight from Dallas to Albuquerque.

When I realized that Dena had already published a book, I quizzed her about her journey to publication. [Sorry, Dena!] But we also shared our Texas connection–Dena lives in Granbury, just down the road from where we lived in Burleson and Fort Worth.

Support other writers. Now, I’m blessed to be connected to Dena through WordServe Literary Group, and we both contribute to their WordServe Water Cooler every month.

Wounded-Women-Of-The-Bible1I also had the privilege of writing an endorsement for Dena’s newest book, Wounded Women of the Bible. By the way, I would highly recommend it.

Here’s a little bit of information that Dena shared about herself, including some details about her new book and a link to her blog.

I’m a wife, mom, speaker, author of half a dozen books, and contributor to many more. I love encouraging hurting, harried women to find hope and healing in the arms of Jesus…and take themselves less seriously. My latest release is Wounded Women of the Bible: Finding Hope When Life Hurts, co-written with my dear friend Tina Samples. A few of my favorite things: date nights with my hilarious hubby, spending time with my two sons, and hanging out with girlfriends. I’m grateful for a loving heavenly Father, the blessings He so generously bestows, and His amazing grace. You can find out more about my writing/speaking/mentoring at http://www.denadyer.com.

Showcase your own work. I hope you will check out my guest post on Dena’s blog soon. Here’s an excerpt from my article, “First, Do No Harm: Lessons in Life and Nature.” 

One morning, I noticed a doe hovering over her fawn in my backyard. I watched them from a distance, so I wouldn’t disturb their peace. During the hottest part of the day, the doe nudged her fawn into the bushes of the greenbelt that surrounds our home.

I peeked out the window several times that day, watching the twitching ears of the hidden fawn under the brush. Later that evening, I noticed the protective doe behind a sycamore tree, just a few feet away from her newborn spotted fawn. (read more)

Do you think it’s a good idea to submit guest post for other writers’ blogs? Why or why not?

Add new comment

