Karen Jordan

Encouraging Aspiring Writers

Hope this encourages you as a writer and helps you inspire other writers! Keep writing!

WordServe Water Cooler

Photo/CCWCAs a freelance writer and writing instructor, I’m often asked to edit the work of my peers and of aspiring writers. And I love to encourage others to tell the stories that matter most.

Grammar cops. I also appreciate the editing skills of my writing peers, as they wield their red pens and hack on my “shoddy” first drafts. But at times, I observe grammar cops attack insecure, fragile writers, who approach them for encouragement as they tiptoe into the waters of writing for publication.

Now, I’ve been known to whip out my red pen from time to time, when someone asks me to do that kind of editing. But I try to use a little discernment and discretion when a novice writer approaches me with their work.

Aspiring writers. Sensitive, aspiring writers need our empathy, since they trust us with some of their most intimate tales. These newer writers pour…

View original post 535 more words

3 thoughts on “Encouraging Aspiring Writers”

  1. Great post, Karen! I really like your suggestion of asking writers what they expect from you as an editor. And your statement about writers trusting others with some of their most intimate tales is so true.

    Like

Add new comment

