Mary May Larmoyeux, Uncategorized

3 Tips for Writers

by Mary May Larmoyeux

What have you learned over the years about writing? What have you learned from others?

lightI’ve learned that the craft of writing is a lot of hard work. And most of what I’ve learned has been passed on to me by others.

Not too long ago I read a quote by Henry Burton, a clergyman and writer who was born in 1840. He said: “Have you had a kindness shown? Pass it on; ‘Twas not given for thee alone, Pass it on; Let it travel down the years, Let it wipe another’s tears, ‘Til in Heaven the deed appears – Pass it on.”

Well, today I’d like to pass on three tips that have helped me as a writer:

1. Let your work sit for at least a day before taking a fresh look at it. (Confession time: I don’t usually follow this tip for blog posts. But I always do for articles.)

You may want to mark your drafts in a logical way. For example “3 valuable tips for writers a,” “3 valuable tips for writers b.” Also, I like to put the date and time at the very bottom of something I’m working on, along with the document name. Of course, all of this will be removed on the final draft.

2. Ask others for their honest impressions of your work. You don’t have to agree with what they say but truly consider their suggestions.

And ask yourself: Is there anything in my work that could be misunderstood? How will different people from different walks of life interpret this?

3. Keep documentation for your pictures. Most writers use photographs in their work from time to time. I often use ones from a stock photo website. Some of theses photographs are free and some are not. All require a credit line.

I keep one Word document for all of the photographs that I did not take. I just paste a very small icon of the picture on the document, along with the credit line that should be used, and where I got that particular picture.

I also have a folder on my computer for pictures that I’ve taken, hopefully naming each one something that I can easily find through a quick search. Example: old_barn_ml. (The ml means I took the picture.)

Well, these are my tips! Now, it’s your turn to pass something on. Could you please take a minute to share, in the comment section below, something that has helped you as a writer?

Photo and post © 2014 Mary May Larmoyeux. All rights reserved.

Read more:

Four Ways to Find the Right Word

Three Favorite Books About Writing

My Writing Life: Taking Chances, Making Mistakes, and Getting Messy

Writing the Ideal, and Those Dreaded, Awful, Yucky, Mucky Rewrites

1 thought on “3 Tips for Writers”

  1. Great tips, Mary! I agree, it’s hard to let your blog posts sit before publishing them. But thankfully I have a few writer friends that will let me know when they see a typo, and they’ll even correct them for me online if needed. [Btw, thanks for the “heads-up” and the editing the other day, Mary and Anita!.] Oh, and great idea about documents our pictures–wish I would’ve thought of that one a few years ago.

    Like

Add new comment

