Karen Jordan

A Lesson about Patience: Website Revisions

I shared this post on my new website/blog recently. And I’m still in the process of my website/blog revisions. So, I thought some of you might relate to my experience. I’d love to hear about your revision experiences, too. Be sure to leave your comments below. 

Photo/KarenJordan

Revising My Website AGAIN

“More than a half, maybe as much as two-thirds of my life as a writer is rewriting. I wouldn’t say I have a talent that’s special. It strikes me that I have an unusual kind of stamina” (John Irving).

I’ve written about my need to revise my website in an earlier post, and I compared it to changing a flat tire.

Well, my vehicle needs maintenance again. What can I say? I’m a perfectionist?

Obviously, that is not the case. But I am always trying to make progress. Plus, it’s kind of hard to drive a car with a flat tire

I experienced that reality a few months ago.

I planned to leave in plenty of time to make my Stonecroft speaking engagement. I knew it would take me about two hours to the drive to Pine Bluff, Arkansas, from my home. So, I felt pretty confident in my ability to make the trip without a hitch as I drove out of my driveway early that morning.

Less than a block from my home, I heard one of my back tires flapping against the pavement. So, I stopped my vehicle to take a look at the problem.

A flat tire!

“What do I do?” I call my husband who works an hour away. His work requires him to be a problem solver, and he’s a perfect fit for that job. So, who else would I call, right?

“You’ll need to see if you can inflate the tire so you can drive the car to get it fixed.

I groaned, “Inflate the tire?”

“If you can’t do that, you’ll either need to put the spare on the car or call for road service.”

“But I have to be in Pine Bluff by lunch! And I’ve never changed a flat before!”

I felt my blood pressure rising. I was already dressed to speak to an audience of about 100 women. What would happen if I didn’t show up?

Long story … I DID make it to my speaking event–five minutes before I was scheduled to speak on the subject of “worry.”

“What are you worried about today?” I began my presentation with my prepared introductory question.

I chuckled as I asked that question, thinking of how the topics I speak and write about always reflect my life.

Several women in the audience even giggled.

But about that time, I had eye contact with the event planner. She was not laughing.

  1. My timing always seems to be off with my website revisions. Right now, I’m awaiting the response of several publishers concerning my latest book proposal. I know they might be trying to find my blog archives. But my previous blogs are hidden in cyberspace right now under my old weblinks–www.karenjordan.net and www.karenbarnesjordan.com.

What can I say? Life happens, right?

I could worry. I’m not a web developer! I haven’t been trained in marketing! I just want to “tell the stories that matter most”! 

So, I just tell myself, This is just another lesson in patience and revisions. And I’m sure it will offer more fodder for future stories.

What lessons have you learned about revisions or patience lately? 

 

2 thoughts on “A Lesson about Patience: Website Revisions”

Add new comment

