Karen Jordan

Overwhelmed by Your “To Do” List?

What do you do when you’re overwhelmed?  I shared my experience with being overwhelmed with my “to do” list recently on the WordServe Walter Cooler. I hope you’ll share some lessons you’ve learned about being overwhelmed in the comment space below. Blessings, Karen

WordServe Water Cooler

Photo/KarenJordan

“Liberty means responsibility. That is why most men dread it” (George Bernard Shaw).

Buried beneath a mountain of paperwork? Paralyzed by some impending deadlines? Dreaming of a week on the beach?

I considered a “real job” until I read the job description: “Ability to work independently and multitask.”

I love to work independently. But I tend to hyperfocus most of the time. And I struggle with multitasking all of the time. So, I passed on that job opportunity.

I’m not so sure multitasking works well for my daughter Tara, either. She seems frustrated at times when I call as she prepares dinner—holding a screaming baby, listening to a whining preschooler, dealing with two squabbling little boys, and talking on the phone, all at the same time.

I can’t even concentrate on my writing projects at times with dishes in the sink or a hamper of dirty laundry waiting on me. And…

View original post 323 more words

Add new comment

