Karen Jordan

A Lesson from the Waiting Room

Photo/TaraRossWaiting rooms can bring out the worst in us. Long periods of waiting cause all kinds of emotional red flags—from impatience and worry to full-blown panic attacks.

Reminders of past pain, traumas, and personal loss make our present trouble seem intolerable. The dark clouds roll in, and we can’t see the light of spiritual truth.

I’ve been drawn to many hospital waiting rooms during my adult life, especially this past decade. And I don’t really like to wait; I’m very impatient for good news to arrive.

Waiting does not have to seem hopeless. We can find hope and peace from our worries when we know that God is listening to cries for help.

The psalmist speaks of “waiting” in Psalm 40,

I waited and waited and waited for God. At last he looked; finally he listened. He lifted me out of the ditch, pulled me from deep mud. He stood me up on a solid rock to make sure I wouldn’t slip (1-2).

Personal story I’ve had several years of intense waiting-room experiences this past decade. But God continues to reminds me to seek Him first as I face my worries every day. I pray that you will seek Him first with your worries, too.

What lessons have you learned in the waiting rooms of your life?

Photo/TaraRoss
YouTube/theaftersVEVO (“Broken Hallelujah” The Afters)

1 thought on “A Lesson from the Waiting Room”

Add new comment

