Karen Jordan

Surviving Mother’s Day Blues?

Photo/KarenJordan

 

How did Mother’s Day go for you this year?

A time of joyful celebration? Or a mixture of bittersweet memories?

Mothers’ Day often brings a mixed bag of emotions for me. Even though it’s been several years since my mothers’s death, Mothers’ Day still brings some melancholy moments for me.

I’ve discovered that I can either try to ignore my emotions and remain in denial about my feelings, or I can allow God to guide me to the truth, so I can find peace.

Sometimes keeping busy with my own kids and grandkids helps me handle my emotions on Mother’s Day. But at other times, I’m forced to deal with my melancholy mood and bittersweet memories without them. That’s when I’m tempted to let my negative feelings get the best of me.

I know that I’m not alone in my struggle. I hear comments from others who struggle with their Mother’s Day Blues, missing their loved ones or dealing with disappointments and regrets.

How do I survive the Mother’s Day Blues? As I approached Mother’s Day this year, I prayed for God to help me deal with my own melancholy mood, and help me encourage others in their struggle. Here’s a helpful strategy that I’ve discovered in God’s Word.

  • Remember. ”The Lord is near” (Phil. 4:5 NIV).

    God promises to always be with us. And He wants us to call on His Name for help.

  • Exalt. “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!” (4:4)

    Even when I don’t feel joyful, I can begin to confess God’s promises and voice my gratitude and praise to Him.

  • Surrender. ”Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.” (4:6)

    What do you need? Healing? Peace? What does the Bible say about your need?”

  • Trust. ”And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (4:7).

    God also promises to protect our hearts and our minds from negative thoughts and emotions, as we confess our needs to Him.

God’s truth always provides a balm for my troubled spirit. 

How did you celebrate (or survive) Mothers’ Day this year?

Photo/KarenJordan
YouTube/Jesusownsmyheart1 (“All This Time” ~Britt Nicole)

2 thoughts on “Surviving Mother’s Day Blues?”

Add new comment

