Karen Jordan

Confessions of a Focused Writer

I shared this thought on my personal blog this past week. But I wanted to shared it with my writing friends here on the StoryWriting Studio. You may relate to my journey, right? If so, I’d love to hear from you! So, don’t forget to leave your comment in the space below. Blessings, Karen

Photo/KarenJordan

DISTRACTED FROM YOUR WORK?

I am doing a great work and cannot come down …. (Neh. 6:3 HCSB)

A friend reminded me of this scripture a few days ago. [Thanks, Anita.]

Not only do I admire Nehemiah’s perseverance, I admire his ability to resist the temptation to get distracted and pulled away from his work.

Confession. For quite awhile now, I’ve let distractions keep me from completing some of the book projects that the Lord placed on my heart long ago.

I still believe in the importance of my online writing commitments. But I know now that I must allow some focused time for my other writing projects.

I’m not sure how long it will take me to get this next project on target, but until then I want to make this public confession, “I am doing a great work, and I cannot come down!”

Photo/KarenJordan

So … see you on the other side!

Photo/KarenJordan

Can you relate to my struggle with distractions? I’d love to hear your story! Leave your comment in the space below. 

4 thoughts on “Confessions of a Focused Writer”

  1. thank you for your kind comment!! I’m working on it all!! I enjoy these spiritually uplifting blogs and there is always something to which I can relate. Please stop by mine sometime. You will I’m sure enjoy the visuals and perhaps the stories.!!

    Like

  2. I am a very sporadic writer ( amateur), juggling it with photography projects etc. I have a great deal of trouble remaining on task- a life long defect though I now “try” to organize the day into morning yoga and meditation and less time on the pc. when I am inspired there is no stopping me not hunger, earthquake or phone ringing!!! My commitment this year is to write more and more often. Focus, focus!!

    Like

    1. Hi Dune Mouse! Sounds like you’ve got a lot going on. I’m still working on my writing focus, too. And I’m beginning to make some progress. Hope you are, too. Keep writing (and re-writing … I just read your other comment below)! 😉

      Like

Add new comment

