Kristen Clark

Author Interview: Kristin Clark

Photo/KristinClark
Welcome guest blogger, Kristen Clark, speaker and writer, and founder of www.HisSideoftheLookingGlass.com. Kristin lives in Texas with her husband Lawrence. Contact Kristin via email here or follow her on Facebook and Pinterest. [If you want to guest post on this blog, check out our guidelines here.]


BookImage/KristinClarkAuthor Interview with
Kristen Clark
Author of Becoming a Woman of Worth: Creating a More Confident You 

 1. What motivates you to write? 

I absolutely love the writing process. Writing is cathartic, creative, and expressive. I love to write about deeply rooted passions and life-changing experiences. I also love to use writing as a way to celebrate nature and compliment my skills in photography.

2. What writing are you most proud of?

I am very proud of my inspirational short stories published by Chicken Soup for the Soul. Having always been a fan of those books, I consider it a great honor to have my own works published by them. Knowing my story may inspire someone else is a real gift. I’m also especially proud of my new book, Becoming a Woman of Worth: Creating a More Confident You. This has been a longer term, heart-lived project and the book has already received very positive reviews; that makes me proud.

3. What are you most proud of in your personal life?  

I’m most proud of overcoming my personal battle with low self-esteem and my ability to help others build confidence in an effort to experience greater personal success. In building confidence I found the courage to write and submit my first work for publication. In building confidence I found the courage to help others do the same.

4. How did you develop your writing?

Writing is an art form that requires constant development. As a result, I make it a priority to write daily, attend writing conferences each year, and take writing courses and workshops whenever possible. I also make it a priority to read daily; I believe the best writers are also avid readers. But the journey began when I sat down to write my first short story, nearly ten years ago.

5. What is hardest – getting published, writing or marketing? 

For most writers, the hardest part is marketing. That’s simply because most writers struggle with self-promotion and don’t invest in learning the marketing-side of the business. I find marketing the easiest because my professional background includes sales, strategy and planning, and marketing. So, for me, the hardest part is the writing.

6. What marketing works for you?

I manage most of my own marketing and have the greatest success using social media, video, and article marketing to drive traffic to my website, build web-page stickiness, and convert browsers to buyers. Also, I have learned the value of strong copywriting in all of my marketing efforts. Strong copy-writing and using words that sell are key in eliciting a response from my readers; this is what makes them buy.

7. How often do you write? And when do you write?  

I write every day.  For me, discipline is key, and I make it a habit to write at certain times every day. Also, I include copywriting for marketing purposes in my writing schedule, as that is equally important to my success. I may have written the next #1 best seller, but if I don’t market it then no one will know about it.

8. How do you feel about social media websites such as Facebook and Twitter? Are they a good thing?

I think social media websites are a necessary evil for authors. They can be effective, but require discipline and a well-defined strategy to be lucrative. I manage a detailed Social Media strategy, down to daily posts, and I limit my time on social media networks to one hour a day. Spending any more time on social media networks interferes with my ability to manage other equally critical activities for my writing business.

9. How do you feel about self-publishing? 

The publishing industry has changed dramatically over the last ten years, and I think self-publishing is a great way for unknown authors to get published. However, to be successful as a self-published author, one needs to make an investment in learning the business side of writing and use marketing as a key tool for success.

10. Do you have any advice for writers?  

Don’t ignore the business side of writing; don’t ignore marketing. Make time to read. Write every day. Make an investment in your craft by attending workshops, seminars, retreats, and courses. Find the courage to hit the “send” button; you have to submit to be published.

Photos/KristinClark

Add new comment

