Mary May Larmoyeux, Uncategorized

The Beatles, a cake, and chocolate candy

by Mary May Larmoyeux

Were you one of the millions and millions of people who saw the Beatles 50th Anniversary Special on ????????????CBS? My husband and I took a break from the Olympics to watch the re-airing of it on Wednesday night. Boy, did it bring back memories!

Do you remember songs like “I Want to Hold Your Hand” …”Let It Be” … and “Yesterday”?

“Yesterday,” it begins, “all my troubles seemed so far away. Now it looks as though they’re here to stay. Oh, I believe in yesterday.”

Well, today is Valentine’s Day. A wonderful day to remember what love has meant to the yesterdays and tomorrows tucked away in our hearts.

John Lennon once said, “Love is a promise, love is a souvenir, once given never forgotten, never let it disappear.” I like that!

There’s nothing quite like love, is there?

I will always remember the day when one of my granddaughters and I baked a cake together at Pops’ and my house. When her parents joined us for lunch, they remarked that the cake was especially good.

My little granddaughter cocked her head. “Know why?” she asked.

“Why?” her dad replied.

“I poured the cake mix in with all of my love,” she said. “The goodness you taste is my love.”

Wow! The words from that precious little girl have been etched forever in my heart! The greatest thing that we can give another is our love.

In the Bible translation The Message, it says to “trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love” (1 Corinthians 13:13).

And today is a day when countless people extravagantly celebrate love. Some may be revisiting yesterday by listening to the Beatles’ song “All You Need is Love.” I think that the creator of the comic strip Peanuts, Charles Schultz may have hummed that song a time or two.

What do you think about these words by Schulz: “All you need is love. But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”

Copyright © 2014 by Mary May Larmoyeux. All rights reserved.
Heart graphic © Marko Nesic / Dreamstime.com

Read More:

What Daddy Didn’t Say

The Good Ole Days

How Complete Are the Bridges God Provides?

Writing a Memoir?

3 thoughts on “The Beatles, a cake, and chocolate candy”

  1. That quote reminds me that God alone can fill the emptiness in my heart with His love. And if I allow HIm to fill my heart with His love, I can survive the heartache of my other relationships. About the chocolate … I’m trying to avoid that temptation today.

    Like

Add new comment

