Mary May Larmoyeux, Uncategorized

Unleash creativity: your mother is always with you

by Mary May Larmoyeux

motherWe can often get writing ideas from reading the inspiring stories and words of others. Yes, creativity can be unleashed when we just enjoy the music of writing and have fun making it ours (great post yesterday, Debra!).

For example, the other day a friend shared this beautiful piece about mothers on her Facebook page:

Your mother is always with you

Your Mother is always with you. She’s the whisper of the leaves as you walk down the street. She’s the smell of certain foods you remember, flowers you pick and perfume that she wore. She’s the cool hand on your brow when you’re not feeling well. She’s your breath in the air on a cold winter’s day. She is the sound of the rain that lulls you to sleep, the colors of a rainbow. She is Christmas morning. Your Mother lives inside your laughter. …

She’s the place you came from, your first home, and she’s the map you follow with every step you take. She’s your first love; your first friend, even your first enemy, but nothing on earth can separate you. Not time, not space…not even death!

                                                                                    Author: unknown

And who do you think came to my mind as I read this? My own mother! So, as a writing exercise, I wrote a similar piece about her:  My mother is always with me. She’s the reminder that things work out. She’s the smell of sugar cookies … and Sunday roast … and the sight of kneading bread. She’s the hand that picked Magnolias, the sound of prayers with Dad. She’s the word of kindness needed, the trust that God’s nearby.

She’s a welcome shower on a hot summer day, a rainbow breaking through a dark sky. She’s the place that I came from, my first home—one I’ll always know. My mother’s in my heart forever. She didn’t just teach me about love … from every ounce of her it still flows.

What about you? Did the words about mothers remind you of your mom? What do you cherish about her?

Story Journey: (The post “How to begin to tell your personal stories” introduces Story Journey.) Carefully read the words about mothers, those written by the author we don’t know. Now, write something similar about a loved one or about a fictional character who is in a novel you’re working on.

…    As you did this, what popped out in your mind? For example, when I wrote about Mom picking Magnolias, it made me think of the two huge Magnolia trees in the front of my childhood home. Now that brings back a lot of memories that need to be written down!

Photo and post Copyright © 2014 by Mary May Larmoyeux. All rights reserved.

Read more:

Do You Cue the Music in Your Writing

Writing doesn’t have to be complicated

How to begin to tell your personal stories

The Power of Story

6 thoughts on “Unleash creativity: your mother is always with you”

  1. Mary, this posting was so poignant to me, that I had to walk away from it for a bit, before commenting. I lost my mother 14 months ago, and I’m still missing her every hour of every day. I love what you write, here….and, I think similar things during my daily walk. That’s when I talk to her. Thanks….I like to think that everything you wrote is true. One day, I guess we’ll learn for sure.

    Like

  2. Debra, I’m so sorry about your Mom. Of course, the original thought “your mother is always with you” was by an anonymous writer, but I sure agree. Our moms will always have a special part of our hearts! Thanks so much for leaving a comment.

    Like

Add new comment

