Mary May Larmoyeux

Lesson from a dying poinsettia

by Mary May Larmoyeux

One of our sons and his wife gave Jim and me a beautiful poinsettia when they visited for Thanksgiving. I had so hoped to keep it alive until Christmas!

Well … last week it was unseasonably warm, so I put the plant on our back porch. Guess poinsettiawhat happened? Yep, a cold front came through leaving it lifeless and limp. It was a pitiful looking thing!

Jim suggested that instead of taking the “thing” to the trash that night, I give it a little water and bring it inside for some warm air. He thought this might do wonders. I thought that his idea had a .00001% chance, but went ahead and gave it a try.

Sure enough, by the next morning the poinsettia had sprung back to life! Amazing! And to think, I was ready to give up on it.

As the new year begins, that little poinsettia reminds me of so many things in life—dreams that look impossible or relationships that appear to be heading South or situations that seem to have no hope. It seems to say, “Don’t give up too quickly, even when it looks like it’s time to throw in the towel.”

Of course, untold numbers of people have been ready to throw in the towel at the very point where they found hope. King David was one of them.

Centuries ago David penned these words: “Be brave. Be strong. Don’t give up. Expect God to get here soon” (Psalm 31:4, The Message).

This Week’s Story Journey Challenge:  Look for a biblical principle in an experience that happens to you during the week.  And then, write a story about it.

You may want to read:

Her dog was gone

Stories shape history

What daddy didn’t say

The good ole days

What difference does a deadline make?

Post and picture copyright © 2013 by Mary May Larmoyeux. All rights reserved.

3 thoughts on “Lesson from a dying poinsettia”

  1. So true, Mary! A branch with a beautiful pink bloom broke off my Christmas cactus this year. So I put the broken piece in a small vase with water. The bloom survived the break for weeks, and the branch is still alive, rooting in my vase. I think I’ll put that vase in my office to remind me of your lesson in this post. Blessings and Happy New Year!

    Like

Add new comment

