Uncategorized

Sacred Moments

Photo/KarenJordanThe radiant fog bank settled just above Lake Cortez at dawn, a stark contrast to the winter landscape surrounding my home. I tried to focus on my writing deadline, but I halted my work to observe the breath-taking view.

The glowing mist at sunrise brought a familiar Bible verse to mind, encouraging me to embrace the moment. “How do you know what your life will be like tomorrow? Your life is like the morning fog—it’s here a little while, then it’s gone” (James 4:14 NLT).

Such memorable experiences happen when I least expect them, and they vanish without warning. But I always want to hold on to those special moments longer than possible.

The first time I heard my child’s heartbeat, I tuned out everything else, as I wondered about the new life inside me. Etched on the tablet of my heart, I recall those firsts—feeling him move, seeing his face, and holding him in my arms.

Those rare occurrences happen in my writing life, too. When I received my first contract to write an article for a well-respected publication, I held the envelope close to my heart a long time before opening it. Then, I unfolded the letter with great care and examined every word to be sure I didn’t skip any details.

So how can we embrace our sacred moments? We know such blessings vanish as fast as they appear, just as morning fog dissipates when exposed to the first rays of sunlight.

We can capture the essence of our experiences with descriptive words and well-chosen phrases in our narratives. And through this writing process, others will also be encouraged to tell the stories that matter most to them.

How do you capture the sacred moments of your life? 

2 thoughts on “Sacred Moments”

  1. Great idea, Mary! Often I fail to write those “sacred moments” down because I think I need to write it perfectly. But wouldn’t you love to read the a handwritten memoir composed by your mother or grandmother? I would! But I don’t always practice what I preach. So, I’m writing this thought down to remind myself to capture more “sacred moments.” They happen when I least expect them, and I fail to write a lot of them down when they occur. So, I miss a lot of the details. I guess I need to find a special journal just for those moments, huh? Thanks again for the comment!

    Like

Add new comment

