Mary May Larmoyeux, Uncategorized

How to begin to tell your personal stories

girl waitingby Mary May Larmoyeux

It seems like I’ve heard the story of David and Goliath a million times. Yet, no matter how often I hear it, the faith of the small boy David facing the giant Goliath amazes me.

David hadn’t just heard about God. He knew Him upfront and personal. When he went to Saul to tell him that he would fight the giant Goliath, he said: “The Lord who saved me from the claws of the lion and the bear will save me from this Philistine!” (1 Samuel 17:37).

The shepherd-boy David truly believed that nothing is impossible with God. He acted on that rock-solid belief.

I’ll never forget telling that story to a group of children at church. When I asked for a volunteer to act out David, the hand of a four-year-old boy shot high in the air. So, I chose him to play the part.

Who was Goliath? A high school student who was over 6 feet tall. Seeing the little boy stand next to the “giant” gave me a new appreciation for the amazing faith of the real young David.

Goliath roared, “Who will fight me?”

The four-year old leaped to his feet and shouted, “I will!” And I thought, If this were a real fight, you wouldn’t have a chancein my eyes

But the fact is: There once was a real Goliath, and he never had a chancein God’s eyes.

When things look impossible.

Stories are powerful. They resonate truth and we often can identify with a real-life story.

How many times have you looked at your life or the life of a loved one, hoping for the best but knowing that you had absolutely no power to make the best happen. Well … that was the position that David faced thousands of years ago.

I am so thankful that the story of his battle with Goliath is written down so that generation after generation will know that the power to overcome does not rest in oneself. Instead it rests in the One who is all-powerful.

Today I am going to stroll down memory lane and write down at least six times when God intervened in my family in a situation that looked impossible. And by next Friday I’m promising myself that I’ll have written the story of one of those things. I want my legacy to one day not only know how David fought the giant in his life, but also how I fought mine.

Want to join me in remembering your past so it won’t be forgotten?  Please let me know by leaving a comment below this blog or by emailing mary@marymaywrites.com.

Week One’s Story Journey Challenge:  First, pray and ask God to lead you as you recall times when things looked hopeless before God stepped in. Then quickly jot down several examples. Choose one and write about it (don’t worry about the grammar or saying it perfectly).

It doesn’t matter whether your story is 50, 500, or 5000 words. The important thing is to write something down so that your legacy will have a real-life example of how God worked in your life.

Here’s the first example that comes to my mind when I think of God doing the impossible:  Jim’s and my oldest son was born two months early. When he was about two days old, the doctor said that she didn’t think he would live through the night.

But God!

… Today that boy is married and has three kids of his own!

Over the next weeks and months, I’ll continue to blog on Fridays about ways we can capture our own stories … for a generation that we may never see. My friend and fellow StoryWriting Studio blogger Karen Jordan has taught many classes about writing stories. So, I’m going to close by asking her to share her suggestions about the story journey we are about to begin. And if you have any ideas, would you please share them in the comment section below?

You may enjoy reading:

Stories shape history

Writing a Memoir?

Writing Your Family Stories: Family Photos

What Daddy Didn’t Say

Copyright © 2013 Mary May Larmoyeux. All rights reserved.
Photo © Lane Erickson | Dreamstime.com

16 thoughts on “How to begin to tell your personal stories”

  1. My pleasure, Mary. First, as we prepare our hearts for Thanksgiving, I’d encourage you to focus on your blessings. I’ve noticed some people writing down one blessing a day on their social network this month. One year, I wrote down five blessings a day in a journal that my mom gave me. It really doesn’t matter where (or how) you begin to count your blessings, but that’s always a great place to start telling the stories that matter most. I’ll try to list some other helpful ways to capture more of your stories in my posts on Wednesdays. Blessings!

    Like

  2. Mary and Karen,

    Thanks! I appreciate your encouragement to value each story that touches our heart and tickles our fancy… beginning with Thanksgiving blessings. It seems like yesterday, you ladies inspired me to “draw” on one page the story of my home of youth, its faith, its family, etc. because it was a fun exercise to use crayons again and add color to what seemed like black and white memories.

    Like

  3. Hi Teresa! I remember your story well; I hope you’ve written some more. That was such a fun workshop to teach with Mary a few years ago. We’re hoping to schedule some writing workshops together in the near future. So, keep in touch! Great to hear from you! Oh, and … KEEP WRITING!!!!

    Like

  4. Hi, Teresa. It’s great to hear from you! The story-writing workshop that Karen and I did was a lot of fun, and it was great having you in the group. Hope that you and your family are doing well. Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

Add new comment

