Karen Jordan

8 Thanksgiving Promises

Photo/KarenJordanA few days ago, I read an inspiring article on the FamilyLife blog by Sabrina Beasley McDonald, “Finding My ‘Kinsman Redeemer’.”

As I read Sabrina‘s touching story, I remembered praying for her a few years ago, as she faced her first Thanksgiving with her young children without her best friend and companion.

Today, as I searched through my blog for some thoughts about Thanksgiving, I found an old blog post, listing the promises that I prayed for my friend.

  1. “The Lord is near” (Phil, 4:5 NIV).

    I’m thankful for the promise of God’s presence as I pray for my friend today.

  2. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest” (Matt. 11:28 NLT).

    When life’s journey gets unbearable, He promises to carry our burden.

  3. “He heals the brokenhearted and bandages their wounds” (Ps. 147:3).

    When our hearts are broken beyond repair, He promises to heal us.

  4. God gives “light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, and (guides) us to the path of peace” (Lk. 1:79). 

    When we’ve lost our way, God promises to guide us.

  5. “For your Creator will be your husband; the LORD of Heaven’s Armies is his name! He is your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel, the God of all the earth” (Is. 54:5). 

    Even if we’ve lost our closest friend and companion, He promises to be our helpmate.

  6. “I will teach all your children, and they will enjoy great peace” (Is. 54:13). 

    Our Heavenly Father promises to take care of our children.

  7.  “… I will call on God, and the LORD will rescue me. Morning, noon, and night I cry out in my distress, and the LORD hears my voice. He ransoms me and keeps me safe from the battle waged against me, though many still oppose me” (Ps. 55:16-18). 

    God hears our cries, any time of the day or night.

  8. “But you will not even need to fight. Take your positions; then stand still and watch the LORD’s victory. He is with you … Do not be afraid or discouraged. Go out against them tomorrow, for the LORD is with you!” (2 Chr. 20:17) 

    God promises to fight all of our battles, as we trust in Him.

I hope these promises encourage you as you prepare your heart for Thanksgiving this year.

What promises help you prepare for this season of Thanksgiving? You can leave a comment by clicking here.

Photo/KarenJordan

Related articles

3 thoughts on “8 Thanksgiving Promises”

Add new comment

