Karen Jordan

Fear of judgment, criticism, or shame?

Photo/TaraRoss

The scariest moment is always just before you start. (Stephen King, On Writing)

I struggled with some critical comments and judgment a few years ago. So, I expressed my frustration to my husband, Dan.

I winced at his abrupt and honest response, “Karen, not everyone is going to like you.”

Dan’s statement shocked me, as he reminded me that not everyone likes me or agrees with my opinions. And I’ve revisited that story many times, when I try to encourage other writers.

I still grieve over rejection or criticism, and I prefer to walk away from all confrontations. But I’ve learned a lot from my failures—in relationships and writing.

Recently, I shared some of my thoughts on judgment, criticism, and shame on the WordServe Water Cooler.

Click here to read my post on the WordServe Water Cooler.

What lessons have you learned about judgment, criticism, and shame? Leave your comments below. I’d love to hear from you!

Video/TED (Brené Brown: “Listening to Shame”)
Photo/TaraRoss

3 thoughts on “Fear of judgment, criticism, or shame?”

Add new comment

