Karen Jordan

Looking Back at One Word 2012: Fearless

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (1 Timothy 1:7 NLT)

One Word 2012. When I thought about what “one word” I could choose for 2012, the word “fearless” flashed in my thoughts like a lightning bolt.

I knew that I needed to face some fears to go forward with some projects, plans, and dreams this year. And I thought the title of Joyce Meyer’s book captured this principle well: Do it Afraid! Obeying God in the Face of Fear.

Fearless. So, what does “fearlessness” look like in the real world? Or rather, what does “fearlessness” NOT look like?

Flag. First Timothy 1:7 says, “… God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.” So, if I find myself being controlled by fear and timidity, that’s a big red flag–I’m not listening and obeying God’s Voice.

First Step. But how do we begin to walk in “power, love, and self-discipline”? I believe the first step is to confess my fears. James 5:16 says, “Confess to one another therefore your faults (your slips, your false steps, your offenses, your sins) and pray [also] for one another, that you may be healed and restored [to a spiritual tone of mind and heart]” (AMP).

Face Reality. Until we face reality, we cannot find the truth. And God’s Word promises us that we can “know the truth, and the truth will set (us) free” (John 8:32).

Focus. So, as I began this 2012, I chose to focus on God’s promises, not my fears or my circumstances. “Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong. And do everything with love” (1 Cor. 6:13 NLT).

Future. What is my “One Word 2013”? I’ll share that thought in my post next week.

Photo/KarenJordan

What is your “One Word 2013”?

Karen Jordan encourages others to “tell the stories that matter most.” Find links to her writing workshops, speaking topics, and other online connections on her personal blog/website (www.karenbarnesjordan.com).

Add new comment

