Writers Celebrating Friendship

Photo/KarenAnitaKathy

Karen Jordan, Anita Brooks, & Kathy Graves

This is the very best way to love. Put your life on the line for your friends. (John 15:13 MSG)

I’ve been blessed to have a few people in my writing life that have stuck with me during some of my darkest days. And even though most of my writing friends live miles away, they remain close to my heart. I pray that I never forget what a gift they’ve been in my life.

Old Testament example. The story of Naomi and Ruth in the Bible shows us a picture of two women who walked through some tough times together. Naomi’s husband and her only two sons had died. And Naomi encouraged both of her daughters-in-law to go back to their homelands.

But Ruth, one of Naomi’s daughters-in-law, replied, “Don’t ask me to leave you and turn back. Wherever you go, I will go; wherever you live, I will live. Your people will be my people, and your God will be my God” (Ruth 1:16).

Friendship. As I thought about Naomi and Ruth’s friendship, I was reminded of my faithful friends and family members, who have been with me on my writing journey. They’ve encouraged me during the hard times, walked with me on some challenging adventures, and celebrated with me during some great victories. And even though they’ve seen me at my worst, they still choose to accept my weaknesses, encourage my strengths, and support me.

Celebration. This weekend, I plan to celebrate some milestones with two of my writing friends, Anita Brooks and Kathy Graves. We birthed the StoryWriting Studio together in February this year to encourage aspiring and experienced storywriters. And we’re looking forward to see where this venture might take us in the future.

Gratitude. As I listened to a song (below) by Nichole Nordeman and Amy Grant, it reminded me of our need of friends and the gift of friendship .

Blessings to you, my friends! [You know who you are!]

Photo/KarenAnitaKathy
YouTube/martinone9 (“I’m with You” sung by Nichole Nordeman and Amy Grant)

Who are your faithful friends and supporters? 

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Add new comment

