Kathyrn Graves

Marketing Tips from Rob Eager, Part 3

Rob Eager, of WildFire Marketing, sends out a weekly newsletter, Monday Morning Marketing Tip, and the last three Mondays, he’s focused on the three questions writers (or anyone with a product to market) should ask themselves:

1. What is your value?

2. Who needs your value the most?

3. Where do those who need your value congregate in large numbers?

Rob suggests, ” . . . there are probably more than 25 places, online or offline, where your target audience congregates right now.” Wow. If I were to try to answer where my target audience congregates, I might be able to come up with a few. But I’m not very tech-savvy, so I’d start out with church, women’s groups, etc. The kind of places women would physically go. But then, because I have done some marketing, I’d start thinking about what these women read. So I’d come up with books or periodicals that would appeal to them. And since I was thinking about what they read, I’d eventually get around to blogs. But I’d be far behind the curve.

Rob presents a list of questions to help jog our thought process:

Online:

  • What websites do the people in my target audience visit?
  • What groups on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, or LinkedIn match my target audience?
  • What active forums discuss my type of value or product?
  • What blogs do they read?
  • What news sites do they frequent?
  • What online book clubs are they members of?

If I thought long and hard enough, I might come up with the realization that I needed to make a list of websites. But the other ideas were simply not on my radar. I’m so glad experts like Rob offer free advice along with the books we can buy and seminars we can attend. (Which is another of Rob’s marketing ideas, by the way.) Because I subscribe to his newsletter, I was notified about his book when it became available. But in the beginning, because I attended a seminar he taught at the Glorieta Christian Writers Conference several years ago, I subscribed to the newsletter. It was a domino effect with me, a person in Rob’s target audience.

If I’ll follow his lead, the same thing can happen with those in my own target audience.

Product Details

To find out more about Rob Eager and WildFire Marketing and to subscribe to his newsletter, check out his website at www.startaWildFire.com.

Photo/Amazon.com

Kathryn also writes on Mondays and Thursdays at www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com and on Tuesdays and Fridays at www.KathrynGraves.wordpress.com.

1 thought on “Marketing Tips from Rob Eager, Part 3”

Add new comment

