David Andrews: Unfinished Business

I’ve decided that it’s time to admit to myself that I am now a writer.

I write poetry. I have had my poetry published, and now, I’ve recently published my first book–all in the space of about 12 months.

My writing defines part of who I am; it defines my approach to my life and my faith.

I have discovered many other writers who are travelling down this same road. It’s easy to think we are all alone, but there is great support if you know where to look.

Like most writers, I sometimes get writers block. I get stuck, and sometimes I’m not sure if something I’m working on is barely started or half-finished. I guess that would depend on whether I see my glass half full or half empty. Generally, I don’t like to do things by half, and I get great satisfaction when something is complete.

I’m discovering with writing that a half-finished poem is something great to come back to later, rework, and look at again through a different lens–change and adapt.

I have a lot of poetry and writing that is finished, and I have a lot that’s half done. I have even more that are just at the idea stage, and I haven’t really progressed much further.  No doubt there is more that I haven’t even thought about yet. I hope so.

I wrote a poem a while back, when I shelved my half-finished book, about the lonely existence of a writer and how sometimes it plays on my mind. If you’re a writer or someone who just wants to finish something, then some of these words may just resonate with you. I’d be interested in your thoughts, fully cooked or half-baked. It may just be time to start work on the other half.

Unfinished Business

On my bookshelf
Of half-finished dreams
Lies my hopes and my fears
At least that what it seems

I’ve journaled my faith
Many words I have rhymed
But now I’m stuck fast
In the malaise of time

I’ve toiled with my time
Sweated blood, hopes and fears
My dream remains only half-baked
It brings me to tears I feel half awake

I feel half awake
In my struggle for self
As cobwebs and doubts
Bury my dreams on the shelf

I feel so alone
Isolated and cold
Wondering if anyone cares
As I write and grow old

I have journeyed alone
Taking long leaps of faith
I now need your prayers
As I stray life a waif

You can help me my friend
Pray I wake from my dream
Pray my words see the light
And the lights go all green

David Andrews writes for Poetry in Motion. His writing is an expression of his faith in a world full of paradox. David is married with three sons and lives in Wellington, New Zealand.

© www.poetryinmotion.co.nz

Feeling alone in your writing life? What advice can you offer other writers?
Tagged: , , , , ,

Add new comment

