Pam Sims: Staggering Thought

Staggering–that is my word for the week.

It seems as though writing efforts are often staggering. There is trying to find the time to get those thoughts down on paper, or maybe just trying to get some thoughts to even put down on paper! Between the 40-hour work week, taking care of my family, the deadlines, and the proposals–all of this can be staggering in terms of feeling overwhelmed.

For the past few weeks, I have been working almost continuously on two things–writing for my blog and preparing my book proposal. Writing for my blog takes a lot of effort, coming up with not just good information, but helpful and encouraging information–information that will empower, encourage and enlighten the reader.

It is a task that I do not take lightly. No writer who writes in the Christian market should and most don’t.  The scriptures tell us that we are to “rightly divide the word of truth.

This brings my writing at times almost to a complete stop. How can I do this? What if my words aren’t theologically sound? What is the basis of my writing?  Who am I to write such things?  Who will read them and how will it impact their lives?

 Staggering thoughts!!

When I begin to write there are times I do it because I feel a sense of obligation to the readers, those who will take the time to stop what they are doing for a few minutes and read my post. I want to keep them engaged, connected, and coming back again and again. If I know that there is a chance that one person may be encouraged to walk in a “manner that is worthy of the calling of Christ,” then I must be prepared spiritually for the possibility that those 500 or so words will change someone’s life.

Staggering thought.

However, my sense of obligation is not to the readers, but to my Heavenly Father. He is the reason for my having anything to say.

When my children were young and they did something I thought was extraordinary, or outstanding, I wanted everyone to know just how wonderful they were. Not just because they were my children, but because I thought what they had accomplished, or who they were, was worthy of the world knowing such great people.

We have the same opportunity to share with the world just what we think and feel about God. We can bombard people with constant twitter updates. We can blog daily and post to Facebook multiple times a day. But the message has to be one that will resonate with the one person who will take the time to read it.

I have to ask myself, What makes my message worth reading? Why do I do what I do?

It’s about the message, not the messenger.

As writers we know that a great story cannot be told unless we can tell a great story. God gives us the story, and He gives us the ability to tell it in a such a way that it will touch hearts and lives for His glory.

It is a staggering thought to know that God wants to use me to tell His story!

Pam  Sims – Writer, Speaker and Singer ~ Practicinghispresenceministry.wordpress.com @PamSimsWrites (Twitter)

Pam Sims and her husband Jim make their home in Conway where Pam serves on staff at Second Baptist Church.  She is the author of Making Designing Women out of Desperate Housewives. Pam loves to sing and is passionate about music as a vital part of worship.  She is active in the Women’s Ministry of Second Baptist Church and loves to see women using the gifts God has given them to become all God wants them to be.  She is the founder of Women of the Word Ministry, a traveling conferenece team, and Practicing His Presence Ministries.

Do your writing efforts seem staggering at times? How do you handle those moments?

Photo1/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Photo2/PamSims

Related articles

Tagged: , , , ,

Add new comment

