Kathyrn Graves

The Ups and Downs of Blog Hosting

The week was intense. I planned to travel away from my computer for the next two weeks. The previous weeks were some of the busiest of my life. I sat staring at the screen, wondering why I ever made a commitment to write five blog posts each week. It seemed like such a good idea at the time. Had I been able to see into the future, I might have decided to wait until the fall to start them. But that plan would have been foiled when my son proposed to his girlfriend and they planned a fall wedding.

God stepped in. What-if’s don’t get the job done, so I took a walk outside to clear my mind. In the middle of my walk, the Lord spoke to me by bringing a scripture to mind. “My God shall supply all your need, according to His riches in glory, by Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19 Then He gave me two ideas to write about. I needed two more blog entries in order to have all my posts qued up for my time away.

I remembered why. The reason I made a commitment to regular posts on my blogs is so readers can count on me. They know they can find a devotion on Mondays and Thursdays as we read through the Bible together, and that on Tuesdays and Fridays a post on surviving suffering will offer encouragement. I don’t know what others may be facing on any given day, or how they may depend on what they read in my blogs. I can’t let them down.

Focus on the future. Editors look for writers who can show a following and a regular blog is one way to accomplish that. Blogs help establish a platform for a writer. Publishers want to know they can get more than one project from a writer when they decide to offer a contract. A platform gives the publisher an idea of what they can expect. It seems that most publishers won’t even consider a writer who doesn’t have a proven record of some kind.

Keep proper perspective. But blogs are not the golden egg. Rob Eager, of Wildfire Marketing, cautions against using blog and newsletter readership as the only barometer for success. As we all know, blogs and newsletters do not of themselves generate an income. His point is that success from a publisher’s viewpoint needs to be seen in terms of dollars. If a writer offers a quality product that meets a need, consumers will spend money for spin-off products from the book. Income will be generated and the business of publishing will succeed.

Take the plunge. Blogging has definite advantages. It helps a writer get their message out without depending on a publisher. But it also requires the ultimate level of commitment. Consider carefully what you are about to undertake if you think you want to host a blog, and spend much time in prayer. If you are still certain God is directing you to go forward, the blessing you get back from what you write will make the sacrifice worth every computer key with the letter worn off.

Kathryn writes on Mondays and Thursdays at www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com and on Tuesdays and Fridays at www.KathrynGraves.wordpress.com.

Photo/Kathryn Graves

3 thoughts on “The Ups and Downs of Blog Hosting”

Add new comment

