Kathyrn Graves

Sneaky Habits

I confess. Bad habits I thought I’d left behind caught up and overtook me. Traveling makes it difficult to eat right. Meals eaten in the car somewhere between Russell and Goodland, meals to treat a two-year old, strawberry shortcake for the little one and enjoyed by me, Starbucks’ outdoor cafe with friends, all add up to a crummy eating pattern.

After several weeks of unrelenting bad eating, my body revolted. It refused to entertain any more “treats.” I fell ill. Even nutritious food didn’t stay down. I stopped eating solid food, choosing soup and juice instead. My condition required going back to the basics, like chicken soup and vegetable juice. Liquids could by-pass the digestive process and be absorbed directly into my body. Over time, I could transition to soft food, then back to regular, healthy solids.

While I felt sick, writing became impossible. I couldn’t think straight. I couldn’t sit up long enough to compose a blog post anyway. My daily goal of three-to-five hundred words shrank to zero. I felt like a zero, too. My own actions sabotaged what I believe God has called me to do.

In my misery, I recalled how great I felt when all I ate was healthy, primarily raw, food: real, organic vegetables, free-range poultry and grass-fed meat. No sugar or grains. I also remembered how easy it is to think when not battling stomach issues. I wanted to feel that way again. In order to regain my health, I needed to confess my eating failures and dial back to liquids.

If we allow old, bad habits to creep back into our writing, it will have deleterious effects on our projects, just like our bodies suffer from bouts of eating junk food. Our thoughts won’t flow and our sentences will be mucked up by unneeded words. The only way to avoid rejected methods is to recognize their sneaky nature. Constant vigil is required to keep them at bay.

Don’t let your guard down.

Can you identify any sneaky old habits that have crept back into your writing?

Kathryn also writes on Mondays and Thursdays at www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com and on Tuesdays and Fridays at www.KathrynGraves.wordpress.com.

Photos/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Habits”

Add new comment

