Kathyrn Graves

Magic Moments

Desperate plea. The 4th of July was one of those days that need to be savored long and remembered well. Life has been hectic and full of unwanted change the last few months. Insomnia plagues me because I’m a planner who tries to plan my (and everyone else’s) way out of the current situation. The night of the 3rd, I lay awake most of the night, desperate for relief from my stress. Just before I finally slept, I cried out to God for a respite.

I did not expect His answer to be immediate or personalized. I’m not sure why I didn’t expect anything like what He gave, since I know He delights in such gifts, but I guess I was so caught up in the negative, I forgot to anticipate the positive.

Magic Answer. We woke to a clear, beautiful day at our son’s house in Denver. Mid-morning, he decided to take our grandson to the water park at Six Flags. They would be gone for about four hours. My husband and I enjoyed a leisurely lunch at a sidewalk cafe and then a paddle boat ride on the lake in Washington Park. We peddled just enough to make the rudder function, meandering around the lake. Jazz melodies wafted to us from a man playing the flute near the shore, and ducks dipped and swam in the green water. Tranquility banished all thoughts of the past and worries about the future.

The day ended with two amazing fireworks displays–the best we’d seen in years, and viewed standing in the back seat of our son’s jeep, leaning on the roll bar. They left me with tears in my eyes and cheers on my lips. And praise in my heart.

Gratitude. Magic moments like these, delivered straight from God in the midst of trouble and chaos, need to be treasured. And we need to give thanks and glory to Him for sending them. This article is my praise-gift back to the Lord. As writers, we have a unique opportunity to write thank-you notes to God. Artisans of other crafts may offer their wares to Him as thank-you gifts, but I think it is pretty special to be chosen as a writer of words.

Cherish your calling as a writer and remember to keep it personal with God as your work becomes a series of thank-you notes to Him.

Photo/Kathryn Graves

Kathryn also writes on Mondays and Thursdays at www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com and on Tuesdays and Fridays at www.KathrynGraves.wordpress.com.

Add new comment

