Karen Jordan

Building Your Platform as a Writer

As a writer, sometimes I get tired just thinking about building a platform.

But during my writing journey, I’ve heard a lot about the subject. And even thought my platform is still under construction, I’m always ready to share what I’ve learned with others.

At my very first writers’ conference, everyone was talking about building a platform, and I thought, What is it? Then, I asked myself, Do I need really need one? If so, how do I build one?

Platform resources. In my search for answers about the subject of platform, I discovered a helpful online resource by Michael Hyatt, former CEO and current Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishers, one of the largest publishers in the world. And recently, he’s published a great book on the subject, Platform: Get Noticed in a Noisy World.

Hyatt states on his blog that he has “met hundreds of hugely talented people with outstanding ideas. Unfortunately, most of them couldn’t get published. Why? They didn’t have a ‘platform.'” He adds, “Without a platform—something that enables you to get seen and heard—you don’t have a chance. Having an awesome product, an outstanding service, or a compelling cause is no longer enough.”

Good news. You don’t need to build a wooden stage to have a platform. You don’t even need to be a celebrity, host a radio or television show, write a newspaper or magazine column, or even write a best-selling book. With the advent of social media, everyone has access to building a successful platform. (Michael Hyatt)

Writing workshop. On Saturday, June 23, at the monthly meeting of the Fiction Writers of Central Arkansas, I will offers some tips that I’ve gleaned from my own writing and publishing journey about building a platform in my workshop, “Building Your Platform as a Writer.”

Here are a few of the topics I will discuss.

  • understanding social media models
  • starting and revising your blog
  • editing for the web

I hope to see you there! 

Image1/FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image2/http://michaelhyatt.com
Image3/FictionWritersCentralArkansas

Related articles

What tips can you offer other writers about building a platform?

 

Karen Jordan writes creative nonfiction about her faith, family, and writing. She also encourages others to “tell the stories that matter most” in her writing workshops, her blog, BLESSED Legacy Stories  and her website (www.karenjordan.net).

Add new comment

