Kathyrn Graves

God: Chocolate Buffet or Chicken Soup?

One summer night, while attending a convention in New Orleans, my husband and I decided to indulge in the chocolate buffet at the revolving restaurant at the top of the Hyatt Hotel. It was our big splurge of the week. I chose milk chocolate, dark chocolate, chocolate-dipped strawberries, white chocolate truffles, and more. I thought it was a little peek into heaven.

Then I tried to go to sleep. And tried. I tossed and turned. I finally gave up and read for a while in the middle of the night. My stomach hurt and my eyes stayed open with the stubbornness of a two-year old. The next morning, after a few fitful hours of almost-sleep, I rose, exhausted, deciding the idea of a chocolate buffet was a lot better than the reality. I really wanted that chocolate, but it wasn’t good for me. It was like Psalm 106:15, “And He gave them their request, But sent leanness into their soul.”

Today I’m making chicken soup. The house is filled with the wonderful aroma because I have to let it simmer all day. I know when we eat it tonight, it will be as nutritious as it is delicious.

God is like the chicken soup, not the chocolate buffet. Psalm 107:9 says, “For He satisfies the longing soul, And fills the hungry soul with goodness.” When we choose God, He fills us up with His lasting goodness–and that’s good for us. It’s not a quick fix that leaves us feeling worse. So, in the middle of our crises, let’s take time out to savor God’s chicken soup, His word. Say the name “Jesus” out loud and experience the calm, warming effect He’ll have on you. Read just about any Psalm. And let Him fill you up.

Chicken Soup

Place a whole, free-range chicken in a large stock pot along with 3 chopped carrots, 3 stalks of celery, chopped, and 1 chopped onion. Cover with water. Add 1 tbsp. vinegar and let sit for an hour. Bring to a boil and skim off any foam that rises to the top. Reduce heat to simmer for at least 6 hours, longer if possible. About 10 minutes before finishing, add a bunch of fresh parsley. Remove chicken meat, skin, and bones. Strain vegetables out. Allow stock to cool enough to refrigerate overnight. In the morning, skim away fat that rose to the top. Freeze stock in 2-cup batches. Use one batch, with water added, and vegetables and meat added back in, to make a pot of soup. Add noodles, sea salt, pepper, sage and thyme to taste for the best home-made chicken noodle soup you’ve ever eaten.

photo/Suat Eman/FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Kathryn also writes at www.kathryngraves.wordpress.com and www.kathryngraves.blogspot.com.

3 thoughts on “God: Chocolate Buffet or Chicken Soup?”

  1. Kathy, I have a box of chocolates in my freezer from Valentines Day. It’s amazing how long a box of chocolates will last, if you just each one piece every now and then. But as I read your article, I didn’t crave my chocolates.

    But I could almost smell your chicken soup when I read your words, “The house is filled with the wonderful aroma because I have to let it simmer all day.” Then, I was delighted that you included your recipe at the end of the article! Now, to find a “free-range chicken” in the Village! I can’t wait!!!

    Like

    1. The aroma is really amazing. It will fill your senses so you don’t want, and can’t even think about, anything else. Finding a free-range chicken is very important from a nutritional standpoint. It will form a jelly-like consistency when refrigerated that indicates lots of glucosamine and chondroitin in the bones. The longer you let it simmer, the richer the mineral content as the bones soften.

      ________________________________

      Like

  2. Traditionally, American chicken soup was prepared using old hens too tough and stringy to be roasted or cooked for a short time. In modern times, these fowl are difficult to come by, and broiler chickens (young chickens suitable for broiling or roasting) are often used to make soup; soup hens or fowl are to be preferred when available.’

    Make sure you visit our personal webpage as well
    <.http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/mcv-blood-test/

    Like

Add new comment

