Kathyrn Graves

Reading Writers

Vase and Grapes – Oil Painting

Near Fort Yukon, Alaska, May, 1898 . . . Not once in all her 21 years had Lizzie Dawson seen a moose behind her cabin.” This opening sentence from Kim Vogel Sawyer’s book, A Whisper of Peace, hooked me and I spent the next several hours “in” Lizzie’s Alaska. My favorite novels are long ones. I just hate to get to the end even though I’m hanging in suspense until then. I simply never want to finish reading a story. I like series because I can discover more about the characters even though it is terribly frustrating to wait for the next installment.

I’ve always heard that good writers are good readers. I started as a reader and bloomed into a writer rather late in my life. While I prefer fiction and always thought I’d be a novelist, that isn’t what God planned for me. At the Glorieta Christian Writers Conference, I came to the realization (prompted by a mentor) that I was a devotion writer. Once I found my calling, the Lord blew the doors open for publishing and speaking.

I still couldn’t concentrate on non-fiction books if they weren’t Bible studies or devotions until I got cancer. Then I craved information on the disease and how other people dealt with it. I needed to know how to prevent it. I began reading people’s stories as well as research books. Readers of this blog know the current pressing need for me is good nutrition. So I consume volumes on the subject.

What I read can’t stay inside me. I’m sure you know how that works. I’ll be driving down the road and an idea will pop into my head. Then I’m trying to drive while the idea grows and forms into something useful. It’s as distracting as putting on lipstick! No police officer would ever believe I was speeding because I was writing inside my head.

Writers read and are spurred to write.

I read an article in a nutrition magazine on curbing sugar cravings.  Many of my friends wonder how it could be realistic to give up sugar, so I thought these suggestions would be helpful:

  • Eat higher protein meals
  • Eat whole fruit instead of juice
  • Take good bacteria. In your digestive system, yeast feeds on sugar. Excess sugar intake over time causes yeast overgrowth. Taking 5 billion to 10 billion CFUs of probiotics twice a day for five months will enable the “good bugs” to successfully compete with the yeast for space on the gut lining.
  • Indulge in dark chocolate (at least 70%). Put one square on the tip of your tongue, relax, and relish the complex flavor as it melts.

Maybe God doesn’t taste like chocolate, but the Bible says, “Taste and see that the Lord, He is good,” and reading His book is the most motivating of all.

Photo/Original Oil Painting by S. J. Cook

What do you like to read? Does reading motivate you to write? Are there books or periodicals you would recommend to other writers?

Kathryn Graves writes devotions at http://www.KathrynGraves.blogspot.com.

She writes inspirational pieces at http://www.KathrynGraves.wordpress.com.

4 thoughts on “Reading Writers”

    1. Yes, Anita, and too often I think we take it for granted that we’ll always be healthy, or if we’re not, that that’s just the way it is. It’s important to take ownership of our own health and be pro-active.

      ________________________________

      Like

  1. Thanks for this informative article, especially concerning probiotics. I’d heard a little about that but didn’t really understand it until reading about it in your article. That’s something I will definitely pursue.

    Like

Add new comment

