Karen Jordan

How Do You Defeat Indecision?

“You know what killed that squirrel?” my husband Dan mused as we drove through our Arkansas neighborhood.

Duh, I thought, A car ran over him.

“Indecision!” He explained.

Dan always seems to think in black or white terms, no grey areas. “If you don’t like carrots–don’t eat them. If you hate working as a secretary–find another job.” And he loves to quote this definition to me: “Do you know what insanity is? Continuing to do the same thing and expecting different results.”

“Indecision?” I exclaimed. “Wait a minute! Are you comparing me to that squirrel?”

Dan and I are living proof of the belief that opposites attract in relationships, especially marriage. But after 40 years of marriage, I think I’m finally learning a few decisive tricks from my husband—like how to organize my “to do” list and how to follow through on my dreams.

Confusion. For example, every year I make several New Year’s resolutions. But after a few weeks, I’m usually like my friend, the squirrel (before the car flattened him), my mind darts around as doubts and fears plague me.

Is this plan even possible? What about my failure to follow through on all those other resolutions? Will this just be another waste of my time and resources?

Matthew 6:27 asks, “Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?”

Could my worry and indecision be the death of many of my dreams and my plans?

Revelation. Jeremiah 29:11 promises, “For I know the plans I have for you … plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future … call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you” (NIV).

Can I discover God’s plans for my life as I seek Him in prayer? Could it be that simple?

God’s Word says, “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you …” (Jeremiah 29:13-14).

Resolution. This year, no more New Year’s resolution for me! I chose just “OneWord for 2012”—FEARLESS.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline” (1 Timothy 1:7 NLT).

I can’t do anything about my failures in the past. But I am certain of one thing—God is faithful to His promises.

Have you ever struggled with indecision? How did you defeat it?

4 thoughts on “How Do You Defeat Indecision?”

  1. Karen, this is really true! We lived in the mountains in Southern California and had many, many squirrels that darted across streets, highways and up and down the pine trees…and I would often yell at them as I drove “Make up your mind! Left or right!” Very good!

    Like

  2. I can so relate to the squirrel. Before I finished my first book I was indecisive and I had to make a decision to finish or quit complaining about it. It was the fear factor that kept me from doing it. Then one day I realized that I was lacking the faith that I needed to pursue a dream that I believe God had placed in my life. It is partially due to indecision and the other part is insecurities. I think insecurities often lead to indecision which is brought about by fear.

    Like

  3. Well, you KNOW I relate to the indecision an the insecurities! I’m so glad you faced your fears and finished that book! I’ve discovered that fear raises its ugly head each step of this journey of faith. That should confirm that we’re on the right track, right? Thanks for your comment, Pam!

    Like

Add new comment

