Karen Jordan

Splashing Around in the Net

Haven’t I commanded you? Strength! Courage! Don’t be timid; don’t get discouraged. God, your God, is with you every step you take” (Joshua 1:9 MSG).

Like a lot of bloggers, I wonder if anyone reads my posts on my personal blog. Oh, I get plenty of spam comments, which I have to delete daily. But I hope that I make contact with “real live” people. Oh, I know I have some occasional readers–like my husband or my children (because I ask them regularly). And I do get some “likes” on  my Facebook author page, and I have quite a few “friends” on my  personal Facebook page. I even have a few connections on Twitter and LinkedIn.

But honestly, I get a little discouraged sometimes. And at one point, when I was frustrated with all the spammer on my blog, I just quit blogging for awhile.

Bad idea!
 When I finally called my website provider for some help with the spam, I mentioned my lack of “real live” comments to a guy named Andy on the other end of the line. After a slight pause, Andy asked, “Well, do you post more than once a month?”

“Well, uh … I kinda got discouraged.”

Andy didn’t respond to my whining.

“Oh, I know I need to post weekly. Actually, a few times a week would be best, right?”

Andy politely agreed. Then, he continued to ask me more diagnostic questions about my other website and blog problems. I appreciated Andy’s gracious professional courtesy. But I knew he had pointed me toward an important fact. I needed to step back into the muddy waters of the internet–just maybe I’d catch a few fish this time.

Splashing around on the net.
 Why do I let my technical difficulties and discouragement get me off-track on my journey as a writer?

I love what Joshua told the Israelites, right before they crossed over the Jordan to their promised land. They had become discouraged after forty years in the wilderness. They knew they had even more battles to fight in the promised land. But Joshua, their leader, encouraged them, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9 NIV).

Stepping into the water again. I’ve only been blogging a few years—not forty! And I know I don’t need to get discouraged just because of a few spammers and even fewer “real-live” comments. In fact, after my conversation with Andy, who works for my internet provider, my spam even decreased for awhile. I don’t know what he did, but I was grateful. Thanks, Andy!

So, whether or not I see “success” from my blog, I choose to go forward. What is “success” anyway? A few more readers or obedience to my “call” as a writer? By the way, if you ever want to contribute your “two cents” on my blog, I welcome your comments.

I’ve stepped into the “Jordan,” and I’m not looking back! 

YouTube/karenejordan731

Can you relate to my discouragement? What scriptures promises have helped you when you’ve been down?

6 thoughts on “Splashing Around in the Net”

  1. Great encouragement, Karen. We all need it from time to time….and as we also know, if only one person reads our blog & is blessed or drawn closer to the Lord in some way, it’s ALL worthwhile! We plant the seeds…God brings forth the fruit. We’ve got to just keep finding ways to get the Word out there and trust Him to do what only HE can do best! And then, of course, ALL the glory goes to HIM! I once wrote a little song – I call it my “Humility Song”…here it is….”Lord, remind me that it’s You, it’s You. Lord, remind me if it’s beautiful, it’s You. You are at work within me guiding everything I do – You’re changing my desires, making motives pure and true. Lord, remind me that it’s You, it’s You.”

    Like

  2. Karen, it does get frustrating about not getting comments on my blog. But I remember one time a few years ago meeting a women In Corpus Christi at a Christian conference. She recognized me from my blog and told me that she read it, but so did this man in CA and he blogged on his blog about my blog. I had no idea because he never linked to me or commented on my blog. So I decided at that moment, I will blog and the Lord will lead the ones to it that need to read it and I’ll let HIM receive all the glory and I don’t wonder (well too much) anymore.
    Blessings–
    😀

    Like

    1. It’s really not about us, is it? I like your conclusion, Shonda: “I will blog and the Lord will lead the ones to it that need to read it and I’ll let HIM receive all the glory.”

      I posted that story about my frustration with blogging (I wrote it a few years ago), because I knew that a lot of bloggers first starting out, wonder if anyone is reading their blog. I was hoping to encourage them not to give up.

      But I wanted to point out that part of my problem was that I had become discouraged, and I wasn’t posted very often. I get a lot more hits now that I’m posting five days a week. But I still don’t get very many comments, although I still get tons of spam. I think that might be because of the type of blog I have–I hope to move my blog to WordPress soon. Anyone out there have any experience with that process?

      Like

  3. Thanks for the encouragement.

    Just this morning I received a verse. I jotted it in my journal without its reference. Sorry. “You are my battle Ax and weapon of war. (my middle name is Louise. It means warrior) For with you, I will break the nation in pieces. Set up a banner in the land. (advertising? marketing? My family fiction book ad came to mind because it was called a banner) Blow the trumpet among the nations! (Keep writing..telling..making a sound) I’m sure there’s much more in this verse than I even understood, but it encouraged me to keep on doing what I’m doing.

    Like

    1. Wow! I love that verse, Dianne! I found it in Jeremiah 51:20: “You are my battle-ax and sword,” says the LORD. “With you I will shatter nations and destroy many kingdoms? (NLT).

      It encouraging me, too! Sometimes I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle as I try to write. But I’ve read the end of “The Book”–we win in the end!!!! [I’ll have to share my story about that truth soon on one of my blogs.]

      Btw, I’ve always heard that name “battle-ax” used in derogatory manner, like in these references: “very Agressive and bad tempered (old) woman” (urban dictionary) or “A woman held to be antagonistic or overbearing” (thefreedictionary.com). I’m so grateful to know the biblical reference for this word now!

      So, the next time someone calls me and ol’ battle ax, I’ll hug ’em, instead of slugging ’em! Ha!

      Like

Add new comment

